Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.

Purchase Now

Champions of the Catchment

On September 13 2011, Landcare Illawarra in partnership with South East Landcare and the Southern Rivers Catchment Management Authority, hosted the 2011 regional Champions of the Catchment Awards for the Illawarra.

Every even year, the National Landcare Awards are judged from all the state and territory Landcare winners. This means that every odd year, the State/Territory Landcare Awards need to be judged as the lead up to the National awards.

While there are 12 state Landcare award categories, there are always some Landcare people, who despite the work they do, do not meet the strict criteria of the awards.

For this reason South East Landcare, partnering with Southern Rivers CMA, decided to promote separate awards in each of the 7 District Landcare Associations (DLAs) that make up South East Landcare in the Southern Rivers catchment. The purpose of these awards is to recognise the many Landcare enthusiasts we have, who, because what they do does not meet the strict criteria of the 12 state awards, will not receive recognition for the contributions they make, and without which, their local environment and their local community would be much poorer.

For this reason, Landcare Illawarra nominated a number of community groups and individuals as a local “Champions”.

The winners for this year’s Champions of the Catchment are:

Foxground Landcare – Cooperative Landcare Group Award

Bombo Headland Landcare – Long Term Landcare Award

Lynne Kavanagh – Outstanding Support for Bushcare Volunteers Award

Terry Rankmore and Jim Derbyshire – Landcare and Indigenous Education Award

Anders Bofeldt – Outstanding Contribution to Biodiversity Award

Download a copy of all of the profiles of our champions!

One Comment

Post A Comment